jump to navigation

Samosa, Kachori and Rossogolla March 11, 2010

Posted by Karthik in Food, Memories.
trackback

No, this is not a post about recipes, but the inspiration behind this post.

I have come to believe that most of the interesting things are unplanned :-). So was the visit to K.C.Das today. Least did I expect to end up here since

a. this is far off from where I work

b. This is nowhere on my route map of home-office-home

So ,here is how it all started. A couple of text message to and from a friend (visiting from chennai) intermittently over an hour and a meeting plan was arrived at. As always, the place of meet was on me to choose. After a lot of permutation and combination (the algo was simple. Wherever there is space for parking, we would go there), I chose K.C.Das , which is off MG road in a hope of getting parking space nearby.

So, off I set out from work, all set to wade through the traffic of Bangalore. Surprisingly within 30 minutes I was on MG road looking for parking. MG road looked so different and I realised it had been eons since I had been to this place and how the facade had changed over a short span. (Read as 2 yrs).

The wide road has shrunk and given way to Metro rail. The side-walks are partially used for parking 2 wheelers, leaving very little space in the already small space. Sometimes the question arises.

1. Is this change required? (Getting metro railway at the cost of greenery)

2. Will things be close to what it was before? (Majorly traffic)

Well, I guess the answers are debatable , so wont go there.

It was a while before I could find a space to park my car.Phewww!!!  I walked slowly tracing my steps to the meeting place , taking in all the changes that the surroundings have undergone. Within a short time, the familiar Red board bearing the name K.C.Das came into view. As i stepped inside, a sense of nostalgia swept over me.

Nothing had changed in terms of layout. Realised that the process also hasn changed much. Asked the waiter for a menu and he promptly nodded his saying “No. We dont have one” and he doled out what was on offer. While waiting for the food to arrive, looked around , comparing in mind how it was when I last visited. Nothing much had changed , except for the company with whom I used to hang out then..Thankfully somethings remain the way they were.

Spent a while savoring the food, esp the lukewarm Rossogolla.. mmm. yummy.

Hopefully the next visit will be sooner (not another 10 yrs) 🙂

Ciao

K

Comments»

1. Aarti - March 12, 2010

:)) sweet as the rasagulla u amukified before gulping down the hot tea!!!

2. Aarti - March 12, 2010

Sweet post… 🙂

u’ve missed out the uncooked potato… the aunty who shopped for over an hour 😀


Leave a comment